A disappointed post

The Would Be Diplomat

Today I started working on the Lisette Diplomat Dress. I got the pattern because I wanted a nice easy shift-style summer dress to get me back into a dressmaking frame of mind, and this one looked cute as a button, and easy as pie.

I’m now having regrets. Having spent the afternoon tracing the pattern and trying to grade it, I’m not so sure it’s a good choice, after all. I’ve just been googling it and seeing what other people have done with it. And I’m coming to the conclusion that it’s just not for me.

This is indeed a very cute dress. But one of the main reasons it looks so cute is because the dress on the model is tiny. And the model is only about 19 and she’s also tiny. Of course tiny things are cute. I need to remember: Nothing looks cute when it’s made in size massive. I need to stay away from The Cute – it just doesn’t do me any favours.

In particular, the horizontal seam between the front facing and the main fall of the front would sit right on the biggest part of my bust. Some might say that I should just embrace it and make a feature of it, but seriously, that’s just not going to happen!

So that’s an afternoon of Lesson Learned.

At least I learned it before I cut into any fabric. I can use this floral for something more suitable.

 

Leave a Reply

