The Squares and Triangles Circle Skirt

I got this skirt finished last night, in time to wear it today for my niece’s First Holy Communion celebrations.

The Squares and Triangles Circle Skirt

The Squares and Triangles Circle Skirt

Photobombed by one of the many nieces

Photobombed by one of the many nieces

I have many nieces* (well, eight- that’s really rather a lot from three sisters). Apart from the photobomber, the little girl in blue behind me is another one of ours. She’s a 3 year old girl with a very definite sense of style- she was wearing two necklaces, and at least six bracelets, despite her mother’s suggestion that she really didn’t need to wear *quite* that many. Oh no, she’s firmly in the More is More Camp.

My favourite thing about this?

Apart from the perfectly reasonable pride in making something wearable- I love this fabric. It’s fairly thick cotton, with a slight element of stretch, and it’s got a hefty weight to it. It falls beautifully, even though I’m not wearing a petticoat with it. One of these days I might make myself a frilly petticoat to see how much fouffe I can get into this, but it doesn’t actually need it.

It also performed brilliantly in the comfort test- one huge roast dinner later, I am still happy to be wearing this.

* Nephews, not so many…

Leave a Reply

