Now what?

I’ve done two monthly sewing challenges in a row now, and I’m feeling slightly bereft. I’m not sure what to sew next.

The obvious To Do item is the teal toile of the jiffy dress (in my head this is being named the Tweal). I’m half way through making it, and it burns to have a UFO in the house.  The only trouble with this is that I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it. I knew with the Jif Lemon Dress what I was going to be aiming for, but with the teal, I’ve got no gripping ideas. I need to have a bit of a brainstorming session with myself, to see what will work for this. So I might possibly leave that for another time, when I’ve got some sparkly dust from the Inspiration Fairy wafting over me.

Having tried a couple of challenges I was wondering if there was one going on in October that might inspire me. The main one that I might try is #RedOctober. I *love* the logo for it!

ping… ping… ping…

I don’t really wear a lot of red, although it’s not entirely absent from my wardrobe. It’s just not something I can easily co-ordinate, because it’s not in my main colour palettes. Maybe I could go more for a sort of aubergine or magenta colour, or would that be pushing it too far? This would definitely require some fabric shopping, as I’ve nothing autumnal/wintery in my stash, never mind in red, and fabric shopping is not something I really ought to be doing!

Practical considerations dictate that I make a couple of work skirts in the next month or two. I’ve got a good couple of metres of the black drill left over from the Jif Lemon dress as well as a spare 80cm of the teal (I overbought!), so I could knock a couple of skirts out easily. I’m thinking a half-circle skirt in the black, and a straight skirt in the teal- they’re both of them fairly easy to make. But I’d still want to make them a bit special somehow.

Anyone have any particular preferences? I’m not averse to being swayed by the opinions of others!

2 thoughts on “Now what?

  1. As soon as I saw the ‘Red October’ challenge I wanted to do that challenge, the only restriction is red. Unfortunately my timing is off this month so I am setting out of challenges and I honestly feel lost. No deadlines, no manic days of pressure, no ripping my hair out by the roots. I have decided to just SEW! It makes it easier and any creation is a wonderful creation.

    • That sounds really sensible & pragmatic. There’s no need to add pressure to our lives (most of us have enough of it already), so it should be a case of just enjoying the creative process.

Leave a Reply

