OK Universe, I get it!

The Universe has been dropping hints to me that I need to give my wardrobe the once over. Everywhere I’ve been seeing posts on revamping wardrobes, capsule wardrobes, wardrobe planning, reviewing, organising, decluttering… I thought it had all gone quiet and then I read Coletterie’s post on the Wardrobe Architect, and I was very nearly tipped into signing up for the Wardrobe Architect project then, but I held back. It had resonated but I wasn’t quite ready to commit.

Then today I read Fiona’s post on Seams Straightforward about how that Coletterie post had inspired her, and I knew that the Universe wasn’t letting me get away with it. It was time to accept the inevitable. So I’ve committed to the Wardrobe Architect project, and I’m looking forward to having my clothes be a bit more like I really want them to be.

In a way it’s really easy for me because I haven’t got a big house with lots of hiding places for stuff. I have a tiny flat and limited storage space. Once I’ve been able to get rid of the clothes I don’t wear, I can see what gaps I’ve got. I’m pretty sure I’ve got most of what I *need*, and there won’t be honking great big gaps, and many of those gaps I’ve got should be more or less covered by my current sewing plans.  It’s almost as if the Universe knew what it had in store for me when I was formulating my future sewing plans.

And now, it’s sunny and bright, and I need to go out and photograph the Red Square skirt.

8 thoughts on “OK Universe, I get it!

  1. That Universe! I am glad you finally listened and now have some peace! I am on board with this too. Just seems pretty sensible and I really do want to be able to always have what I NEED in me mades in my closet. 🙂

    • Now if I see Wardrobe Planning Posts everywhere, I will know it’s the Universe *helping* me in this task!

      I guess I’m doing it for the same sort of reason. I want to have a wardrobe full of clothes that I wear regularly, because they go well together and because I enjoy wearing them, and I hope to make a lot of those clothes myself. I’m not going to beat myself up if I do buy things rather than make them, but make is still my preferred option, just for the fun and challenge and opportunities for uniqueness and awesomeness.

  2. Yes – I read Fiona’s post too and mosied on over to Colletterie’s blog to grab myself a button. There will be tidy and organised wardrobes all over the world.

  3. I only just read about the project on Fiona’s site and now yours… definitely sounds like a great idea and I should join in on it as I too live in a tiny 2bedroom place and have no room for more clothes probably wear less than 1/2 of what’s in my wardrobe and will definitely be sewing more clothes this year so will need to make room 🙂

    • For me it’s partly about the physical literal wardrobe problem of too much stuff, and partly about sewing smart, making sure that I’m making wearable useful clothes. But I think it will be an interesting project for people with all different sorts of wardrobe “issues”.

Leave a Reply

