Wardrobe Architecting at a Standstill

I’ve been rather lax on the Wardrobe Architecting. I’m having a slight personal reservation as to the way it’s going. It’s not a problem with the whole WA thing, or anything like that, it’s just that I wasn’t ever intending to create a Capsule Wardrobe, simply to rationalise what I’ve got available to wear and to use that as a realistic guide to what clothing I would find most useful to make.

I don’t want to feel myself getting stuck in a loop of “I know what I like and I like what I know”, which is the route to sartorial stagnation. I’m not a wild and crazy dresser, but I do like to be open to different styles of clothing. A capsule wardrobe feels limiting, whereas the joy of sewing for myself is that there are NO limits.

It has been a very useful series for me in that way, so far. In terms of the WA benefits so far, I do feel I’m much better at recognising the clothing that I *know* will work for me, my Definite Winners, which is a good thing. Also, it has encouraged me to be more thoughtful about trying things which are not in the category of Definite Winners, so that I don’t waste money and time on clothing choices I will regret. That has definitely helped me this year.

So I’m still reading the Coletterie posts carefully. But for now, I’m not intending to put into practice any of the exercises or processes at this stage of the Wardrobe Architect. It may be that the direction will shift again and it will be more in tune with what I want to get 0ut of it. In the meantime, it’s still interesting to see what other people are doing with the project.

4 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architecting at a Standstill

  1. I’ve felt the same way over the last couple of weeks. When we were asked to pick out a few colours from a palette which I loved I just couldn’t do it so I’m loathe to carry on really!

    • I’m still reading and keeping open-minded, because it’s tended to go all over the place, so far, so it may well be that it turns into something I feel is beneficial again. And anyway, just because *I* don’t want a Capsule Wardrobe, I’m still interested in what people can do with theirs.

      • Totally. I think shapes wise it;s definitely given me some clarity but I am finding it a little restrictive, I know it will be perfect for others out there though 🙂

  2. I started with the wardrobe architect but found that I wasn’t really reading it and found that I had the book “Nothing to Wear” by Jesse Garza and Joe Lupo sitting in my bookshelf unread – so I cracked the spine and read it cover to cover and it has inspired me. Very much like the WA but I find reading the book at night when I go to bed much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

