Some photos of where I work

This is my office.

My Office

That’s my desk there in front

As you can see I have a lovely window with a view over the town of Guildford. My office building is quite high up a big hill, so the view is pretty extensive. As you can see, there’s plenty of natural light flooding into my workspace.

But wait… What that photo is not showing very clearly is that actually, no I don’t have plenty of natural light flooding into my workspace, because there’s a lot of ivy growing up the walls of the building, and this is the real view out of my window. Today it is augmented by a few big snails because it’s been rainy and that seems to bring them out.

Ivy, Ivy, everywhere...

Ivy, Ivy, everywhere…

And the woman who works next to me doesn’t have a houseplant, she has ivy growing in from the window. I’m pretty sure it got trapped there last time the window got opened, rather than it pushing its way in like a triffid, but the window’s been shut on it for a long time, and it’s still kept on growing!

Our very own outdoor houseplant

Our very own outdoor houseplant

Apparently the men from Property Services are coming to chop it all down tomorrow. I will have to wear sunglasses to protect my eyes from the dazzle of all that extra light coming in! I took my camera into work to capture the Before photo. I’ll be sure to show you the After photo next week. That’s assuming the men from Property Services do turn up tomorrow (I won’t know- I don’t work there on a Friday), and assuming they do chop the ivy down. At the moment they still have the option of looking at it and sucking their breath in and saying it’s too high up and it’s a health and safety nightmare.

That’s all a bit of background to my very first Me Made May photo- ta-dah!

My first Me Made May outfit!

My first Me Made May outfit!

I’m wearing the You Mean I’m Wearing Orange?! Skirt, and my refashioned When Two Become One t-shirt, so it’s a twofer today. Don’t go expecting me to wear that much Me Made stuff per day for the rest of May, because I haven’t *got* all that much to go around. In fact when I was thinking last night about what to wear today, I’d originally planned to wear the top with one of my numerous black skirts. But then I realised this morning that I’d been wearing black skirts on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday and it was high time I wore something a bit different. Also I’d been wearing a black skirt with this top when I first blogged it.

And I couldn’t not include the dud photo where I realised I had the outdoor/indoor ivy growing out of my wazoo!

That ivy gets everywhere!

That ivy gets everywhere!

Now, I’m off to join in Zoe’s brilliant MMM14 Sewbox.co.uk giveaway. Wish me luck!

 

12 thoughts on “Some photos of where I work

  1. Amazing! Ivy took over the building, hehe. Love your skirt and the colors you chose, so spring. Looking foward to see your next post …

    • Thanks Rosy- I do like a lot of colour, even though often I’m wearing plain black. My colleague says today’s outfit is cheering her up, so that’s good.

  2. That last one made me giggle 🙂
    That is brave of you, entering the me made may! I thought about it for three seconds, and concluded it would totally freak me out 🙂 I know it is not that strict as it sounds, but still! Your outfit is so fun and colorful 🙂

    • I’m glad that photo is giving people something to smile about!

      I signed up for MMM, because I wanted to see how far I can go with it. I’ve pledged to wear Me-made 5 days a week, because I believe I can do that. I’m not sure I could do it for the whole month yet, because I just don’t have enough of a self-made wardrobe yet. But I generally try to make clothing that’s wearable on a day-to-day basis, and I do wear my makes quite a lot, so it *should* be ok.

  3. Hi, I’ve been lurking for a while 🙂 I love the outfit’s springy colours, and I’ll be intrigued as to whether the ivy remains… I’m doing MMM for the first time too this year – but I got it down to two or three days during the week plus weekends. Really not sure how much office wear I’ve got… it’ll be an interesting month for us, I think!

    • LOL! I’ve been lurking on your blog too! I loved your Francis Revisited Jumper- it inspired me to get on with some knitting! Good luck with your MMM!

Leave a Reply

