NYLon 2014

I’ve had the best day! I was at the London sewing bloggers meet-up, organised by the lovely Rachel of House of Pinheiro. It was my first ever blogger meet-up, and I was a bit nervous, before I got there, because I wouldn’t know anybody. My nerves weren’t helped  by the District & Circle tube lines being partially shut for engineering works, forcing me to approach the journey there by an unfamiliar route. But I got there in time and Rachel greeted everyone with a hug, which immediately made me feel very welcome.

At the Victoria & Albert Museum

At the Victoria & Albert Museum

The V&A was looking fine in the glorious Spring sunshine, and I immediately recognised a few people from the various blogs I read, and got chatting with people. There was a mahoosive group photo (there were over 70 of us there!) and smaller group photos, and then we all traipsed off to Goldhawk Road, in batches.

I had decided that I couldn’t just be buying fabric willy-nilly, so I had a specific budget, and I was determined to make sure I only bought sensible usable fabric. I was trying to learn the lessons of the Wardrobe Architect. In the end I bought three pieces of fabric and three (bargainous) white skirt zips.

Additions to Stash

Additions to Stash

The black & white & pink immediately spoke to me, and I think I must have a bit of a thing for geometric prints. It’s destined for a plain straight skirt. The red & grey is a glorious border print, and that’s another skirt-to-be. The white & pink floral print is a cotton voile of some sort, and I’m thinking a it would work for a light summery tunic top.

I’ve made a whole bunch of new internet friends and added a load of new blogs to my Bloglovin reader. And it’s been so inspiring to see everyone in their me-made finery. I’m definitely going again next year!

13 thoughts on “NYLon 2014

    • Hi Melanie. It was brilliant fun! I’m not a “London blogger” myself, which was one of the reasons I was a bit nervous beforehand. But I live in the London commuter belt, and I’m fortunate enough that I can get into London pretty easily.

    • It was wonderful for me, because no-one in my circle of real life friends does any sort of sewing. And it was great to see so many well-known patterns on real people not just photos on the internet!

    • It certainly was! And I’ve already started on one of those pieces of fabric. The red & white & grey is starting to become the skirt that was in my head from the outset. It’s going to be a little while before it’s finished though, because it’s involving quite a bit of hand sewing. I enjoy hand sewing, but it does take time.

  1. You are some lucky bloggers! If I had a local sewist meetup it would be 3 upholsterers at the ag museum with chik fila to follow! I covet your fabrics, of course….

    • It was lovely to meet you too, Amanda, and thanks for following! Let me know if you have a blog yourself, so that I can check it out.

Leave a Reply

