Who would have thought, back when I was 14, that I’d have a use for Pi?

This is totally down to Amanda! She put the idea in my head of getting a quick skirt done by the end of May. So tonight saw me wrangling fabric and trying to work out all the radius calculations for a circle skirt. I know the By Hand London girls have got an app for that, but it doesn’t go quite big enough for my waistline, and I wasn’t sure how it would work with two side seams, because my fabric is only 110cm wide, not wide enough for a full seamless circle.

I am totally cheating with this one. The seams are both on the selvedge, so I’m not neatening them. (Shock, horror, and general pearl-clutching from the purists may now ensue.) Nothing’s going to fray in the wash, and I like the idea of having the selvedge details inside the skirt.

Get ready for a crazy print skirt shortly!

Get ready for a crazy print skirt shortly!

I’ve done everything bar the hemming. And sewing on the bar & hook. I’m going to leave the hem to drop over the weekend, and see what it’s like when I get back from France. I’m a tiny bit regretful that I won’t have this to wear while I’m away, as it would have made an awesome finale to Me Made May, but I know from experience that there’s no point trying to hem a circle until the bias has had a chance to hang for a few days.

The trip to France is a little bit sad, my sisters and I need to do the final signing off of some legal matters for my mother’s estate, but mostly I am expecting the weekend to be more about fun and laughter, good food and drink, sunshine and the beach. And anyone reading this in the UK would have to agree with me that those are all well worth the trip.

11 thoughts on “Who would have thought, back when I was 14, that I’d have a use for Pi?

  1. Hahaha! Go Bea! it is going to look great! I did try to put you a lovely accent on your name and could not quite manage it! I am looking forward to seeing this skirt! I have cut out the flamingoes! So I think we are inspiring each other! That’s a good thing! Enjoy France, it it STILL raining here this morning! Boo! 🍷🍷🍷

    • Can’t wait to see what you do with your flamingoes!

      Youngest sister is out there with her husband and kids and keeps texting us how lovely and sunny it is, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it stays nice at least until Sunday!

    • I first dipped my toe into making circle skirts the easiest possible way, using a wide elastic waistband and jersey fabric, so it was all very stretchy and forgiving. Once I knew I liked the shape on me, it made it worth my while to get through the maths!

  2. Can’t wait to see what you will turn out! They are always so fabulous. I hope your trip is wonderful, even with the sad circumstances that you are faced with. Enjoy the beach, the sand, the sun and know that your mother is looking upon you and your sisters, watching over you.

    • Aw, thanks! I’m just back from my weekend away, and as anticipated, it was really good fun, and it’s nice to be able to think about Mum the way she was when she was there, on her holidays, before she got ill. Lots of laughter and sunshine (oh my how I’ve enjoyed the sunshine), and fun times.

Leave a Reply

