Ongoing project

I’m bringing my costume making skills into play on my next project.

Pinterest is very good at making you see what your obsessions are. It turns out that I love a bit of button embellishment. As soon as I saw this pin, I knew I was going to have a go at it. Mine would be different of course- no-one likes an out-and-out copycat.

I bought a shedload of buttons on Ebay, in shades of black, grey & white, and last night, I made a start.

Buttons! Buttons! Buttons!

Buttons! Buttons! Buttons!

I’ve got the base made & covered, and I’ve started sewing some buttons on. I don’t know how long this one will take. I’m not even sure whether I’ll have the right number of buttons, or whether I’ll need to order a stack more. I’m trying to take photos as I go along, so that I can do a proper process post, but I may lose patience!

This make is definitely reminding me of my Pink Confetti dance costume which I made a couple of years ago.

 

And yes, I did put my name in big diamanté letters on my hip belt, so that my name is splashed right across my backside! I still love this costume, because the confetti beading is so rich and textured. I’m hoping that my Button Belt will have the same vibe. Though I’m kind of sad that it won’t have my name all over it… I’m also a tiny bit sad that I don’t have a stash of buttons all ready to use, like my grandmother’s button jar or my mother’s button jar. One day, one day…

6 thoughts on “Ongoing project

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with! I made a button necklace once after finding a charity shop selling individual buttons from a crate. Goodluck with the project!

Leave a Reply

