Stashbusting Sewalong 2015 – I’m In!

One of my main Top 5 Reflections of 2014 was that I have too much stash. Now, I know my stash is paltry compared to some sewers out there. But it’s too much *for me*. I have a tiny tiny flat, with next to no storage space, and I’d sooner use my storage space for actual clothes than potential clothes.

So when I saw EmSewCrazy was running the Stashbusting Sewalong this year again, I decided to sign up, because if you commit to doing something on the Internet, you have to follow through, right?

Stashbusting Sewalong Challenge Button 2015

I, Béa, commit to using 10 pieces of stash fabric in 2015. I also commit to not buying any new fabric until I have used 5 pieces of stash fabric.

I’m hoping that 10 pieces will actually turn out to be more than 10, but I’m keeping it realistic. Frankly, if I make it to 10 I’ll be happy. It will mean that decluttering is happening, which is good.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to stick to the monthly themes. What with that and The Monthly Stitch, I don’t want to feel under pressure over what I make. But if I can crowbar my makes into the themes, I will.

Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “Stashbusting Sewalong 2015 – I’m In!

    • Thanks, I’m trying to be realistic with myself, so it’s not going to be a massive de-stash, but hopefully it will bring it a bit more under control.

    • Thanks Mandy! Good luck yourself.
      I think I can probably manage in the first half of the year. The question is whether I can stick to it for a longer time than four or six months.

  1. Yay, go for it! It’s a great idea to help with that *promise to yourself*! I must admit, after spectacularly failing an online challenge last year, I’ve been feeling a little reluctant to join any, but this one looks do-able. I think I might join you, we can cheer each other on!

    • Thanks Alice! It doesn’t feel particularly brave- if I was really brave I would ban myself from buying any new fabric all year, because I really don’t need it! But I feel like I need to allow myself *some* wiggle room for frivolity.

Leave a Reply

