A quick post on meetups

As a result of following new sewers on Instagram, I’ve got two real life meet-up opportunities this month, so I shall be more of a social sewer!

Firstly, I shall be at the Foldline Fabric/Pattern Swap tomorrow, in central London, hosted by Kristy of Scientific Sewing. I found out about it earlier this week, but didn’t think I could go, because of a prior commitment, but that visit got swapped to Sunday last night, so I’m free to go on up there. It fits in with my StashWatch pledges to myself, because swapping doesn’t increase my stash, and it means I can ditch those fabrics that I don’t really like any more, and patterns I know I will never ever sew, entirely guilt-free! And since I’ve now met my promise to myself to use 5 stash fabrics before I could buy any new ones, it will be ok if I come home with a bit more than I left with. Especially if I go up early and take a wander down Goldhawk Road.

And a bit later this month, on 18th June, I shall be trekking down to Brighton to the Sewmance Festival, organised by Stacie, who runs the Brighton Sewing Bee. It looks like a lot of fun, with loads of workshops and talks and a Stitch’n’Bitch area, I’m not entirely sure what that will entail, but I’m probably well up for it.

Finally, and this one is online rather than IRL, as a result of following Sewmance on Instagram (@sewmancefestival) I’ve embarked on their #mysewingstory video challenge. It’s day 3 today, out of 5, the theme is “why do you sew?”. Instagram only gives you a minute of video time, so that’s going to be a tough one to edit my thoughts down.

Leave a Reply

