Pink Polka Dots

I do love this skirt! It’s the product of my Summer Term in sewing class. I drafted the pattern myself, and did a toile, even though my teacher would have let me try without it, but the toile actually did its job, in that it made me alter my pattern slightly.

Pink Polka Dot Skirt

Bonkersly Pink Outfit!

There were three things I learned from making this skirt:

Vent opening in the back seam. I’ve done vents before, they’re an easy thing to do, but I learned, in particular, to add iron-on interfacing to make the vent opening really clean and stable. I’m definitely going to use this technique again.

DSC_0412

Interfacing

Invisible zip – I will treasure Gail’s instruction sheet forever, because it’s the clearest, most straightforward guide to how invisible zips go in that I’ve seen. It inspires me with confidence that I can do this again. I’ll need to get a few more invisible zips into my stash to get more practice in.

Zip close up

Zip close up – the bottom bit is slightly ropey, but at least 3/4 of it is beautiful!

 

Curved Petersham to support the facing. I’ve done skirt facings before, no problem, but the addition of the curved petersham tape has made it so much more stable. Just to remind myself of the construction order (because I know my memory is fallible), and to help anyone who’s interested in trying it out for themselves:

  1. Sew the facing to the skirt top.
  2. Sew the curved petersham along the top of the facing, on the wrong side of the fabric, with the shorter side of the tape nudged right up close to the seam with the skirt top.
  3. With the skirt seam allowance and the facing seam allowance together, understitch the facing.
  4. Stitch the facing to the skirt at the zip edges, and also at the seams and darts, to stop it flapping about, because flappy facings are a right nuisance.

While I’m feeling very confident that this is a straight skirt pattern I can rely on, I’ve got two more skirts planned that will test this premise, because I’m aware that patterns can sometimes turn out differently.

Tragic Rear View

The Tragic Rear View

The gigantic elephant in the room is how my pattern matching is non-existent. I attempted to get the dots to be approximately in line, but that’s as far as it went. I am forgiving myself for it, because that was never one of my targets for this skirt, it was all about the invisible zip and the vent. So it’s there, and I’ve acknowledged it, but it’s not going to bother me. Much.

But let’s finish on a more positive note – I wanted to keep the skirt as long as I could, so I added bias binding to the bottom to hem it. The only one I had in stash was black, which makes a good contrast, and it’s satin, so it feels lovely and smooth on my legs.

What I love about this skirt?

How learny it was! The construction process really upped my game.

Also it is bonkersly pink! Perfect!

 

6 thoughts on “Pink Polka Dots

  1. i LOVE it! So pink! So polka-dotty! And such a bang-on fit as well, brilliant. Your invisible zip looks pretty darn – well, invisible, to me! Thanks for the tip about the back vent interfacing too, I’d never have thought of that but it really gives it a nice finish.

  2. A very nice skirt there. There is nothing like polka dots to make a person smile. Great invisible zip. And thanks for dropping by my blog and checking in on me. This is the first time I have taken a breath for quite some time. Work has been crazy.

    • Hi Bev – good to hear from you! I’m glad you’re getting the chance to ease up a little. Work’s important, but it’s also important to look after yourself. And thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

